Access filename of new file in templates and space scripts during creation

Hi there,

I’ve tried many note taking apps but the one that have stuck for me is silverbullet. It’s as great as it is simple. But now I find myself being limited by, most likely, my own knowledge. I’ve been looking for an answer to this for days and experimented with different ways of doing this, all with no success. I’m not very experienced in JS and I have not found any extensive documentation on silverbullet or its components so my attempts so far has been based on examples from this forum, github, and my previous coding knowledge (mostly Python).

TLDR;

I need to pass a custom date (i.e. 2024-06-08), which is created by me when the template is run, into a {{variable/function/method}} and/or a space-script for further processing i.e. getting a week range based on that date. Using name doesn’t work, only “hardcoded” values seems to work or the template won’t run. I need to capture the filename somehow after the fact and I’m stumped on how to achieve this. Grateful for any suggestions/help.

Short summary:
I have a template to create a daily journal and these notes are named based on date (Journal/Year/Month/Date => Journal/2024/06/2024-06-16.md). In these I create daily notes and tasks, and I also want to show all overdue tasks and all tasks with a deadline of the week of the date of the journal i.e. for 2024-06-16 that would be all tasks between 2024-06-10 and 2024-06-16.

For the current date, {{today}}, that is not an issue since it’s easy to do with the help of the Additional Date Functions space script and any other Temporal scripting during the creation of the note via the template, but where it becomes a problem is for dates that are custom/not today’s date, that is, set by me when running the template. I sometimes need to create daily/weekly journals for past dates and in those cases {{today}} won’t work.

What I’m currently doing: